Student Scholarships

Scholarships for Incoming Freshmen

STM Scholarship
Awarded to students with majors (declared or intended) in chemistry or biochemistry. Two to four scholarships will be awarded each year

Leland & Margaret Harvin Wilson Scholarship
Awarded to a chemistry or biochemistry major with strong affinity for the major. Financial need is considered as part of the criteria for the award. Award is renewable annually if scholar maintains satisfactory progress toward a chemistry or biochemistry degree.

James W. Kercheval Scholarship
Awarded to highly qualified entering freshmen with a serious interest in pursuring a major and career in Chemistry or Biochemistry.

Scholarships for Upperclassmen

McGrew Faculty Scholarship
Awarded to qualified undergraduate students by the department faculty

Wanda & Carl Wehner Chemistry Teaching Scholars
Annual award to sophomore, junior, or senior major in Chemistry-Teaching who shows outstanding promise as a prospective teacher. Overall and department GPA = 3.0 or above and must have completed one semester of a chemistry organic course appropriate for their degree at the time of application. Preference to students who intend to teach in Iowa for two years following graduation. Financial need is a consideration as well.

Robert W. Getchell Memorial Scholarship
Given to undergraduate majors in chemistry or biochemistry. Scholar should be research active and provide contributions to the department such as serving as a lab assistant and being active in the Student Chapter of the ACS. Preference to juniors and seniors with a new person receiving the award each year.

Ben Baird Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship is named in honor of Ben Baird, who died unexpectedly before he could complete his PhD. Ben was an enthusiastic student with a promising future. This award is given to a promising junior who intends to pursue a PhD. degree in chemistry or biochemistry.

John W. Gurney Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship honors John Gurney, an alum who had a successful career in pharmaceutical sales. It is awarded to a junior or senior Chemistry or Biochemistry major who plans to go into the pharmaceutical industry. Students must have a minimum GPA of 2.8 and be from the State of Iowa.

Dr. John J. Talley Chemistry Scholarship
The Talley Scholarship provides funding for 2-3 students per year. Students are sophomore level or above with at least a 3.0 GPA. Preference is given to BS Chemistry or Biochemistry majors, particularly if they are involved in research.

Louis Begeman Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship is shared with the department of Physics. It is given to two outstanding students of junior standing for use in their senior year. Preference is given to students intending to go on for graduate study.

Dan McMahill Scholarship
This scholarship is given to Chemistry undergraduate students who demonstrate financial need and are a resident of the State of Iowa.

Alfred E. & Miriam J. Heilmann Endowed Chemistry Scholarship
This scholarship is given to a junior or senior student earning a B.S. degree in Chemistry or Biochemistry and showing an aptitude and motivation for a career in Chemistry or Biochemistry.  It is renewable provided the recipient meets all award criteria.

Virginia Weimar Endowed Chemistry and Biochemistry Scholarship
This scholarship is given to an outstanding student earning a B.S. degree in Chemistry or Biochemistry who is in the second or third year of their program. Minimum GPA of 3.2 is required.


To be eligible for the above scholarships, students need to complete the UNIversity Scholarship Application at

Be sure to select the "Chemistry and Biochemistry" scholarships.


Other Awards Given by the Department

ACS Award in Analytical Chemistry
Chemistry Scholarship and Service Award
ICUC Award for Excellence to a student in General Chemistry
Hypercube Scholar
Outstanding Biochemistry Student
Outstanding Chemistry Teaching Student
Outstanding Inorganic Chemistry Student
Outstanding Physical Chemistry Student
Russell Wiley Award for Outstanding Freshman Major

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Northern Iowa
1227 West 27th Street
Cedar Falls, IA 50614-0423
Phone: 319-273-2437
FAX: 319-273-7127

Site design by Western Sky Communications